To view the PDF file, sign up for a MySharenet subscription.

NEWFUNDS COLLECTIVE INVESTMENT SCHEME - Distribution Announcement for the Quarter Ended 30 June 2021 - NFSH40

Release Date: 15/07/2021 08:30
Code(s): NFSH40     PDF:  
Wrap Text
Distribution Announcement for the Quarter Ended 30 June 2021 - NFSH40

Share code: NFSH40
ISIN: ZAE000130431

Portfolios in the NewFunds Collective Investment Scheme in Securities registered as such in terms of the Collective Investment Schemes Control Act, 45 of 2002 and
managed by NewFunds (RF) Proprietary Limited (Registration Number 2005/034899/07) ("NewFunds")

NewFunds has today finalised a distribution to holders of ETF securities ("investors") recorded as such in the register on Friday, 23 July 2021, for the quarter ended 30 June 2021 as follows:

Alpha code                  Dividend/                    Foreign/                 Gross                     Subject to Withholding     *Withholding       Net
                            Interest                     Local                    Distribution              tax                         Tax (%)           Distribution
                                                                                  (Cents per unit)          Yes/ No                                       (Cents per unit)

NFSH40                      Dividend                     Local                    0,67972                   Yes                        20                 0,54378
                            Dividend                     Foreign1                 0,35268                   Yes                        20                 0,28214
                                                                                  1,03240                                                                 0,82592
Further details are listed below:
¹Source of foreign dividends subject to SA dividend tax:
United Kingdom                                                                                                               100,00%

Notice is hereby given that the following dates are of importance in regard to the distribution by the above ETF for the quarter ended 30 June 2021:
Declaration/ Finalisation date                                                    Thursday, 15 July 2021
Last day to trade “cum” distribution                                              Tuesday, 20 July 2021
Securities trade “ex” distribution                                                Wednesday, 21 July 2021
Record date                                                                       Friday, 23 July 2021
Payment date                                                                      Monday, 26 July 2021

The distribution will be paid on Monday, 26 July 2021 to all securities holders recorded on the register on Friday, 23 July 2021.

Investors qualifying for exemption from DWT or a reduced rate of DWT per Double Tax Agreement ("DTA"), will receive, in cash, a distribution amount of the applicable DWT, provided they
have completed and timeously lodged with the relevant intermediary the prescribed declaration and undertaking form.
Failure to do so will result in the dividends tax being withheld in full.

Withholding Tax on Interest (WTI) came into effect on 1 March 2015.

Interest accruing from a South African source to a non-resident, excluding a controlled foreign company, will be subject to withholding tax at a rate of 15% on payment, except interest,

• arising on any Government debt instrument
• arising on any listed debt instrument
• arising on any debt owed by a bank or the South African Reserve Bank
• arising from a bill of exchange or letter of credit where goods are imported into South Africa and where an authorized dealer has certified such on the instrument
• payable by a headquarter company
• accruing to a non-resident natural person who was physically present in South Africa for a period exceeding 183 days in aggregate, during that year, or carried on a business through a permanent
establishment in South Africa

Investors are advised that to the extent that the distribution amount comprise of any interest, it will not be subject to WTI by virtue of the fact that it is listed debt instruments and/or
bank debt.

Holders of Shariah ETF securities
Holders of Shariah ETF securities (“investors”) are advised that the appropriate purification of dividends, through the donation of 5% of the dividends to charity, needs to be effected by each
investor. Absa Islamic Banking's Shari'ah Supervisory Board (''SSB'') has provided the following list of approved charitable institutions. The list is not exhaustive and it is therefore not obligatory to
use one of the specified charities:
1. Al Furqaan Orphanage (Gauteng)
2. Gift of the Givers (RSA)
4. Africa Muslims Agency (RSA)
5. Al-Imdaad Foundation
6. Muslim Hands (RSA)
7. Islamic Relief Agency (RSA)
8. Bait-ul-Khair (Gauteng)
9. TIBA Services for the Blind (Gauteng)
10. Mustadafin Foundation (
*Investors should seek advice from their tax advisor on whether the tax rate shown is applicable to them.

South African tax resident investors relating to REITs
** The dividend distribution by a REIT received by South African tax residents must be included in their gross income and will not be exempt in terms of the ordinary dividend
exemption in section 10(1)(k)(i) of the Income Tax Act No. 58 of 1962 (“the Act”) as a result of paragraph (aa) of the proviso thereto which provides that dividends distributed by a
REIT are not exempt from income tax.
No dividend withholding tax will be deducted from dividends payable to a South African tax resident qualifying for exemption from dividend withholding tax provided that the
investor has provided the following forms to their Central Securities Depository Participant (“CSDP”) or broker, as the case may be in respect of its participatory interest:
a) a declaration that the distribution is exempt from dividends tax; and
b) a written undertaking to inform their CSDP or broker, as the case may be, should the circumstances affecting the exemption change or the beneficial owner cease to be the
beneficial owner,
both in the form prescribed by the South African Revenue Service. South African tax resident investors are advised to contact their CSDP or broker, as the case may be, to arrange
for the abovementioned documents to be submitted prior to payment of the distribution, if such documents have not already been submitted.

Non-resident investors for South African income tax purposes
The dividend distribution received by non-resident investors will be exempt from income tax in terms of section 10(1)(k)(i) of the Act, but will be subject to dividend withholding tax.
Dividend withholding tax is levied at a rate of 20%, unless the rate is reduced in terms of any applicable agreement for the avoidance of double taxation (“DTA”) between South Africa
Additional information:
                                  Number                      Tax
                                of securities              reference
                                   in issue                 number

NFSH40                          15 575 446                 9403872162

15 July 2021

Vunani Sponsors

Date: 15-07-2021 08:30:00
Produced by the JSE SENS Department. The SENS service is an information dissemination service administered by the JSE Limited ('JSE'). 
The JSE does not, whether expressly, tacitly or implicitly, represent, warrant or in any way guarantee the truth, accuracy or completeness of
 the information published on SENS. The JSE, their officers, employees and agents accept no liability for (or in respect of) any direct, 
indirect, incidental or consequential loss or damage of any kind or nature, howsoever arising, from the use of SENS or the use of, or reliance on,
 information disseminated through SENS.

Share This Story